Don’t be afraid to ask for help

Being independent is something that’s very important to most people. No one really thinks about it because it’s normal. You choose what you want to do with the rest of your life, get an education, get a job. You make the decision to leave your parents house at some point and live on your own, Maybe even get married, have kids. You can do what you want with your life and you can take care of yourself, which is even more important.

When you’re ill it’s not always like that. You might not be able to finish your education or find a job. You will need help doing simple little things or you might not have money to get a new washing machine when it breaks.
Hopefully you have great friends and family who can help you out, even if they just bring you some groceries you need, or drive you somewhere, but it’s never easy to ask for help.

I have my dad, but he doesn’t live close and if I need something he has to drive all the way here to help me and I feel bad about it. He will and I love him for that, but it’s never easy. I don’t want to waste his time, because that’s what it feels like sometimes.
I try to remember it’s not my fault and I don’t do this on purpose.
This is why I keep asking for help. I think he even likes helping me and in the end I just need it.
I do try to help them when I can or even bake a cake or something when I have enough energy to thank them. I think it’s important to never be afraid to ask for help but also to thank the people who help you, because you want to keep them around.

One thought on “Don’t be afraid to ask for help

Leave a Reply

