Change of plans

When I was little I wanted to be a dolphin trainer when I grew up.
When I was older I wanted to become a photographer and travel the world.
When I got ill I wanted to…. be healthy again?

I’m not sure if many things are as hard as thinking of everything you want to do and know that you’re not able to, ever.
What do you want to do when you’re ill? What can you do?
Not much. I can work from home, not every day, not all the time. One day I might be able to start at 9 in the morning, the next day I won’t feel good enough until 11 ‘o clock at night. It’s impossible to find a job like that, who wants someone they can’t count on?

I had to change my plans. Set different goals in life.
Some says that you have nothing if you don’t have your health. That sometimes hurts because I don’t have my health. Does that mean I have nothing?
I can’t work but I can do other things right?

I can help people, I can try to make them smile, I can knit someone a scarf or take great pictures of their dog.
null
I still love everything I used to, but I have to set different goals.
Now taking pictures of the Taj Mahal isn’t my goal anymore, but then I see the pretty flowers on my balcony or the sunset and I know you don’t have to travel the world to be happy and take beautiful pictures.
Knitting was probably something I never would’ve tried because I would be too busy, and now look at me. I am going a great job!
Besides, you always have personal gifts this way.
null
Yeah I don’t help out the way most people do, working all day long, but does that mean my life is meanigless? I don’t think so.
I learned to be grateful for the little things, to enjoy things I love to do and to try and be there for people which most people forget is the most important thing in the world
You don’t live to work, you work to live. Maybe that’s easy to say when you’re sitting at home for 11+ years, but it should be like that.

Did you have to set different goals in life? Do you try and make time for the things you love to do?

2 thoughts on “Change of plans

  1. Meh, a person’s value isn’t measured by how many hours they work every day. You shouldn’t feel like you are contributing less just because you can’t work 60 hours a week. Like you said, you do other things. You make things count in a different way. And that is perfectly fine. It’s the little things after all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

