Gift ideas

Christmas, birthdays, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day… There are so many occasions where you can give someone a gift and most people seem to have a hard time figuring out what to give so they end up giving money or a gift card.

I thought it might be nice to give some ideas.

1. Figure out what their favourite tv show or movie is.
You have so many things you can find online, especially onΒ Cafe Press.
Mugs, hats, shirts, jewelry. You can’t really go wrong with something like that. It’s not something most people will even think about, at least not the ones I know. They don’t order online a lot and they have no idea things like that exist.
For me it would be something Gilmore Girls related like these items. I would love it of someone bought me something like that.

2. If you can make something yourself; do it!
Nothing is more special than a handmade gift. You can make it as personal as you want, try to figure out what they like, what their favourite colour is, if they are talking about having cold feet a lot (in my case; knit socks :P). If you are good at baking, offer to bake cakes so they don’t have to make them or spend money on them. Give them a mix in a jar so they only have to add wet ingredients themselves, anything is possible. πŸ™‚

This scarf I made for my stepmom. I asked my dad what colour she loved and I knew she could use a scarf, so this was perfect!

3. Give them an experience.
If you know they like certain sports, or baking or know there’s something they’ve always wanted to do, give them an experience.
It can be a cooking class, skydiving or a day at a spa. There are so many options and there’s always something they will like.

4. Offer to go somewhere together.
Maybe it’s a little bit like the experience one, but not quite the same. It’s cheaper, it can be anything from a themepark to the movies to high tea.
I love gifts like these. You get to spend time together and do something fun. Gifts don’t always have to be big , expensive and wrapped with a bow. Sometimes making memories is even better. πŸ™‚

What gifts do you like to give?

 

3 thoughts on “Gift ideas

  1. Love your suggestions. I have to check out cafe press. At the holidays I like to give home baked items, books, etc. and for birthdays I like experiences that I can share with the recipient.

    Like

Leave a Reply

